RUNE HORDES dot INFO

Midgard => Longtable Discussions => Topic started by: Tormentor on June 06, 2007, 01:45:41 PM

Title: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: Tormentor on June 06, 2007, 01:45:41 PM
Hello!
I can remember some topic/post on runegame forums concerning about Vista, but i can't remember what was it and what was the conclusion.
And since runegame forums are down, i'll try to get some help in here.
So is it possible to play Rune with Vista? My friend needs to get some fix/mutator for playing.
Any players with Vista here?
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: Søren Bjerg on June 06, 2007, 04:54:37 PM
After trying to install the game in the "C:\Program Files\" folder several times, but failing due to an error, I had to settle with the root of my C:\ drive... but the game itself works flawlessly for me... on Vista Home Premium and Ultimate.
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: LysB on June 07, 2007, 02:39:56 PM
I had no problems to install it.

But my fps dropped a lil and the update in server list didnt work that good.
other than that i had no problems. but i wen't back to XP
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: Tormentor on June 07, 2007, 07:15:39 PM
Ahh, so there's no problem at all? Surprisingly good news :)
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: Vindal on June 07, 2007, 08:58:29 PM
Vista?  ???
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: Søren Bjerg on June 08, 2007, 05:39:49 AM
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/windowsvista/
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: Tormentor on June 11, 2007, 02:46:15 PM
Ok he told me today that he can install the rune, but when he tries to play the game, it crashes.
So what might be the problem?
Here's the list of his computer:
- Intel® Core™2 Duo Prozessor E6600 (2x 2.4Ghz)
- 2048MB DDR2 Corsair™ Speicher PC667
- 500GB (2x250GB) Festplatte Samsung/WD SATA
- 16x DVD Double Layer Brenner
- 768MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ 8800GTX PCI-E
- MSI P965 Neo Mainboard
- Windos Vista Ultimate
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: Søren Bjerg on June 11, 2007, 03:33:22 PM
Has he tried running the game in compatibility mode?

Right click Rune.exe -> Select Properties - > Select Compatibility -> Select Windows XP (or older)

No idea if it could solve the problem, but it'd be worth a shot, I'd think.
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: DiE on July 20, 2009, 11:49:19 AM
the servers takes forever to load on vista
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: Søren Bjerg on July 20, 2009, 01:13:32 PM
the servers takes forever to load on vista
Must be something related to either your game version (not entirely unlikely, being familiar with the netcode of classic RUNE ;)) or your connection to the server... haven't had any significant waiting times joining a server myself.
Title: Re: Rune HoV on Windows Vista.
Post by: DiE on July 20, 2009, 03:47:58 PM
Well, im not home, but the connection is pretty fast and im experience no lagg etc in game
just when im loading up the servers.

and a friend told me it's becasue of vista.